top of page

Memorable Moments


Thank you Notre Dame University for highlighting Spred Ministry

On May 19, 2013, Fr. Jenkins CSC, President of the

University of Notre Dame conferred on Fr. James McCarthy,

Sr. Mary Therese Harrington SH and Sr. Susanne Gallagher SP

Notre Dames highest honor, the Laetare Medal. Read more.

On June 19, 2013, through Commissioner John Daley, the Illinois

Cook County Board of Commissioners offered its highest tribute

and message of congratulations on receiving the Laetare Medal,  

to Fr. McCarthy, Sr. Harrington and Sr. Gallagher "as a symbol of

gratitude on behalf of the many lives that have been touched by

the wonderful ministry of Spred". Read more.

                                Sister Mary Therese Harrington S.H.

                               has been honored by the Archdiocese of Chicago

                                          for 50 years of dedicated service

                                                     as staff member of

                                the Special Religious Development Agency,


                    Sr. Mary is pictured with Cardinal Francis George.


          On this special occasion Cardinal George remarked to Fr. Jim

          McCarthy, Spred Director,  "You have created a model for the              world."

                                     We are grateful to Cardinal George

                                       for his support of Spred  ministry.

bottom of page